Live Cricket Score, Australia vs New Zealand, Chappell-Hadlee Trophy 2016-17, 2nd ODI: Toss delayed

Hello and Welcome to bdCricket24’s coverage of the second One-Day International (ODI) of the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy 2016-17 between Australia and New Zealand at Canberra. The first ODI at Sydney was a high-scoring affair, with Australia scoring 324 while batting first. Their skipper Steven Smith led from the front by hammering 164. In reply, New Zealand could manage only 256. Though their opener Martin Guptill scored a fine hundred, his side was never in control of the chase. New Zealand will now look to make a comeback in the second game of the series at Canberra, as a win here will keep the three-match series alive.
Both New Zealand and Australia lost their previous ODI series’. While New Zealand suffered a narrow 3-2 series loss against India, Australia suffered a 0-5 whitewash, first-ever for them, at the hands of South Africa. However, New Zealand did make a comeback by winning their recently-concluded Test series against Pakistan. Australia, on the other hand, lost their Test series to South Africa. But they won the final Test at Adelaide, which marked the beginning of a new era as they played with as many as three debutants. Carrying the momentum to ODIs, Australia won the first game convincingly to go 1-0 up.
For them, the top performers in the game were skipper Smith, middle-order batsman Travis Head, wicketkeeper-batsman Matthew Wade with the bat and a collective effort by the bowling unit with the ball. Josh Hazlewood, who missed the previous series against South Africa, lead the attack from the front by taking 3 for 49 from his quota of 10 overs. He was ably supported by all-rounder Mitchell Marsh’s spell of 2 for 38 from 8.2 overs, comeback man Pat Cummins’ 2 for 62 and leg-spinner Adam Zampa’s 2 for 66.
LIVE CRICKET SCORECARD: Australia vs New Zealand 2nd ODI at Canberra.
New Zealand, on the other hand, had Guptill, Colin Munro, James Neesham shining with the bat while Trent Boult, Neesham and Matt Henry being amongst the wickets too. With rookie Lockie Ferguson clocking up over 150 kmph and Colin de Grandhomme providing ample support, New Zealand’s pace attack looked all-round and solid. In Mitchell Santner, they had a decent spinner too. But their attack did not click as a unit and had to pay the price. They would perhaps look at including Tim Southee and Todd Astle into the squad to strengthen it.
Australia, after winning the first game, won’t look to make changes. They do have Glenn Maxwell warming up the bench, but they would like to go ahead with the winning combination, unless there is a last-minute injury. New Zealand are the current holders of the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy. They defeated Australia the 2-1 the previous time they met in New Zealand earlier this year. After having a bad year, Australia would love to have their hands placed on the trophy at the end of this series.
Australia: Steven Smith (c), David Warner, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Aaron Finch, George Bailey, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Hilton Cartwright, Matthew Wade (wk), James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins.
New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), BJ Watling (wk), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson.
Powered by Blogger.